Real Food Rehab

No rigid rules, labels or dogmas.... just REAL food, for your body, mind & soul!

Hi all,

I'm a student and have been saving up for a juicer for a while...finally taking the plunge.

I was gonna go for a Hurom, but then found out that they have reduced the warranty to 1 year now. And since they are a Korean company with just one product in the America market, they might close down and go, who knows? My warranty will be void then.

Omega VERT330 and Hurom are essentially the same. I am now confused between Omega 8006 and the Omega VERT. Some points to consider:

1) VERT has a plastic juicing screen, people have reported they break a lot. I know Omega are going to replace it with stronger plastic, but it might still break often. 8006 has a chrome plated body, but people report that the auger chips and breaks when you make frozen sorbets/nut butters.

The auger in both juicers is made of the same material, and is supposedly very strong.

2) Cleanup is faster with 8006, but juicing is faster with VERT (bigger chute, vertical design). The motor RPM and horsepower are the same.

3) VERT is not supposed to be used for sorbets... but people use it anyway. It does not come with a blank plate, so cannot homogenize food. (no smoothies). 8006 is a grinder/mincer/homogenizer. However, I feel that using it for juicing is best because the auger chips...

VERT can make almond milk, and John from discountjuicers.com has videos showing how to make nut butters and frozen sorbets. (since the motor and the auger are same as 8006). Doing so however voids the warranty.

4) 8006 is 50$ cheaper, and has 5 years more warranty on it.

5) VERT is more efficient in juicing (more juice, faster), and has an auto cleaning feature which 8006 does not. You still need to clean the VERT manually after juicing. And, people report that dry pulp gets clogged in the pulp-chute.